How NextiaInvoices compares
NextiaInvoices is invoicing, quotes and getting paid for Canadian small businesses, not accounting software, and it does not process card payments itself yet. Here is how it lines up with the tools people usually weigh it against, including where they do more.
Checked October 20, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
The short version
Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaInvoices | WaveStarter (free) and Pro | Zoho InvoiceCanada edition · free | FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite, EasyStart and Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 1 user, unlimited invoices, quotes and clients, 50 email sends a month | ✓ Yes (Starter): unlimited estimates, invoices and bookkeeping records; “Powered by Wave” footer [1][12][16] | ✓ Yes, the whole product: 2 users, 500 invoices a year, 3 projects [20][21] | ✕ No. 30-day free trial, no card [30] | ✕ No. 30-day free trial; a separate free invoice generator creates a downloadable invoice [43][51] |
| Limits on invoices and clients | ✓ None on any plan; plans differ by users, email sends, AI actions and storage | ✓ None stated on Starter or Pro [1] | ◐ 500 invoices a year; no paid tier (Zoho asks growing businesses to contact it) [20] | ◐ Lite: invoices to 5 clients; Plus: 50 clients [30] | ✓ Unlimited invoicing on every plan (Lite: 1 user) [43][44] |
| Clients pay by card online | ◐ Not built in: a Pay now link to your own provider (Stripe, Square, PayPal…) on every invoice. Connecting your own account is coming soon | ✓ Yes: Wave’s own card, Apple Pay and bank payments, after approval [4][19] | ✓ Yes, through connected gateways (Stripe, PayPal, Square and others) [20][24] | ✓ Yes: FreshBooks Payments (card, pre-authorized debit, pay later); PayPal too [30][31][32] | ✓ Yes: card, Apple Pay or bank transfer through QuickBooks Payments [44][45] |
| Fees on payments | ✓ No NextiaInvoices fee or commission; your payment provider’s own fees apply | ◐ Cards 2.9% + $0.60 (Amex 3.4% + $0.60); bank payments 1% (min. $1); Pro waives the fixed fee on 10 a month [4][1] | ✓ No Zoho fee on online payments; the gateway’s fees apply [24] | ◐ Cards 2.9% + $0.30; Amex 3.5% + $0.30; pre-authorized debit 1% [31][32] | ◐ Published rate 2.9% + $0.25 per keyed card payment; bank (EFT) payments 1% [46][45] |
| GST/HST and Quebec QST | ✓ GST/HST, QST and your own taxes (inclusive, exclusive, compound), every plan | ◐ Sales taxes you set up, compound option; no Quebec QST guidance [10] | ◐ GST/HST by default; QST, PST and compound taxes mentioned, no Quebec-specific setup described [23] | ◐ Taxes you name yourself, up to two per invoice; GST/HST and QST not named [33] | ✓ GST/HST and PST; QST through Quebec tax codes [49][50] |
| In French | ✓ Yes: the app, your documents, emails and client pages | ✕ No: English only (French can be typed into invoice fields) [9] | ◐ Invoices in the client’s language; a French interface is not stated on the Canadian pages [22][27] | ✓ Yes: the web app, and invoices per client [34][35] | ✓ Yes: the Canadian edition switches to French; invoices in the client’s language [50] |
| Native iOS and Android apps | ◐ Coming soon. The web app works on a phone today | ✓ Yes [14] | ✓ Yes, free (iOS, Android, Windows, Mac) [20][21] | ✓ Yes [30][39] | ✓ Yes, with every plan [48] |
| Where your data is hosted | ✓ Application data in Microsoft Azure Canada Central; AI drafting in Canada East | ◐ Servers in Canada and the United States [18] | ◐ Zoho has a Canadian data centre; your account’s data centre is set by where you sign up [28][29] | ◐ Canada not stated; sub-processors list AWS and Google Cloud in the United States [40][41] | ◐ U.S. regions, with a backup copy of Canadian customers’ data kept in Canada [47] |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | ✕ No: invoicing and getting paid, with a CSV export for your bookkeeper | ✓ Bookkeeping on every plan; automatic bank import on Pro [1][16][17] | ✕ No: invoicing only (Zoho Books is a separate product) [20] | ◐ Expenses on every plan; double-entry reports and bank reconciliation from Plus [30] | ✓ Yes: full accounting with bank connections; payroll is a paid add-on [43] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
Prices at a glance
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s own pricing page, in Canadian dollars.
| Feature | NextiaInvoices | WaveStarter (free) and Pro | Zoho InvoiceCanada edition · free | FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite, EasyStart and Plus |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month | ✓ Pro, $25/month [1] | ◐ None: Zoho Invoice is free only [20] | ✓ Lite, $26/month (5 clients) [30] | ✓ Lite, $20/month [43] |
| Cheapest plan without the vendor’s name on your invoices | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month | ✓ Pro, $25/month [1][12] | ? Not stated publicly (the free product carries “Powered by Zoho Invoice”) [20] | ? Not stated publicly [30] | ? Not stated publicly [44] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month (up to 5 users) | ◐ Pro, $25/month per business (user limit not stated) [1][15] | ? Not offered: 2 users at most, no paid user upgrade listed [20] | ◐ Lite $26 plus $13/month per team member; users included per plan not stated [30] | ✓ Plus, $110/month (up to 5 users) [43] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $49/year, Pro $99/year, Business $149/year (2 months free) | ✓ Pro $250/year [1] | ◐ Free; no yearly price [20] | ◐ An extra 10% off billed yearly; yearly prices not shown [30] | ◐ About 10% off billed yearly; yearly prices not shown [43] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial with no card | ? None we could confirm: the offer shown on the pricing page is dated December 2025 to January 2026 [1] | ✕ None shown [20] | ✓ 80% off for 4 months, then the regular price [30] | ✓ 90% off for 6 months, then the regular price [43] |
Sources
- Wave: Wave pricing — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave invoicing — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave payments — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: online payment fees and timelines — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: recurring invoices — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: payment reminders — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: estimate accepted — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: convert an estimate — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: is Wave available in my language? — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: sales taxes — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: foreign currency invoices — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: customize invoices — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: customer statements — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: mobile app — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: collaborator permissions — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: is Wave free? — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: bank connection account types — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave privacy policy — checked October 20, 2026
- Wave: Wave help: set up online payments — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice Canada pricing — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice Canada — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice Canada features — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice help: taxes (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice help: online payments (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice help: multi-currency (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice help: AI features (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice help: template language (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Invoice API: data centres — checked October 20, 2026
- Zoho Invoice: Zoho Accounts help: your account’s data centre — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks Canada pricing — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks Canada: accept payments online — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: FreshBooks Payments fees (CAD) — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: how sales tax works — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: client currency and language — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: account profile (language) — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: client accounts — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: create an estimate — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: payment reminders and late fees — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks help: iOS app — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks privacy policy — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks third-party sub-processors — checked October 20, 2026
- FreshBooks: FreshBooks press release: Claude connector — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada pricing — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada invoicing — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada payments — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Payments Canada pricing schedule — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada security — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada mobile app — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit help: common sales tax codes (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: Intuit Canada: QuickBooks Canada vs QuickBooks US — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Online: QuickBooks Canada free invoice generator — checked October 20, 2026
Product names are trademarks of their owners. NextiaInvoices is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Your first invoice in under five minutes, from opening day.
Set up your business, add a service, and bill a client — all before your coffee gets cold.
Free plan, forever · 14-day Pro trial, no credit card · Nothing locked or deleted when it ends