NextiaInvoices vs QuickBooks Online
QuickBooks Online is full accounting software, with invoicing inside it and its own card processing, QuickBooks Payments. Its Canadian plans start at $20 a month (Lite) at regular price, and recurring invoices and reminders are listed from EasyStart at $30. NextiaInvoices does less: invoicing, quotes and getting paid, with no bookkeeping and no built-in card processing yet. In return it has a free plan with unlimited invoices, and paid plans from a few dollars a month.
Checked October 20, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.
NextiaInvoices suits you if…
- You need invoices, quotes and reminders, not a full accounting suite
- You want a free plan with no time limit and unlimited invoices
- You want quotes, recurring invoices, reminders and time tracking on the cheapest plan
- You want your invoicing data hosted in Canada
- You already take payments with Stripe, Square or PayPal and want to keep them
QuickBooks Online suits you better if…
- You want bookkeeping, bank feeds and invoicing in one product
- You want card and bank payments processed inside the invoice today
- Your accountant already works in QuickBooks
- You need payroll or inventory
NextiaInvoices and QuickBooks Online, feature by feature
Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.
| Feature | NextiaInvoices | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite, EasyStart and Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | ✓ Yes, no time limit: 1 user, unlimited invoices, quotes and clients, 50 email sends a month | ✕ No. 30-day free trial; a separate free invoice generator creates a downloadable invoice [1][9] |
| Limits on invoices and clients | ✓ None on any plan; plans differ by users, email sends, AI actions and storage | ✓ Unlimited invoicing on every plan (Lite: 1 user) [1][2] |
| Quotes your client accepts online | ✓ Every plan: your client accepts or declines online; convert to an invoice in one click | ◐ Estimates converted to invoices, EasyStart and up; online acceptance by the client not stated [2] |
| Recurring invoices | ✓ Every plan, Free included | ◐ EasyStart and up; not listed for Lite [1][2] |
| Automatic payment reminders | ✓ Every plan, Free included | ◐ EasyStart and up; not listed for Lite [2] |
| Clients pay by card online | ◐ Not built in: a Pay now link to your own provider (Stripe, Square, PayPal…) on every invoice. Connecting your own account is coming soon | ✓ Yes: card, Apple Pay or bank transfer through QuickBooks Payments [2][3] |
| Fees on payments | ✓ No NextiaInvoices fee or commission; your payment provider’s own fees apply | ◐ Published rate 2.9% + $0.25 per keyed card payment; bank (EFT) payments 1% [4][3] |
| GST/HST and Quebec QST | ✓ GST/HST, QST and your own taxes (inclusive, exclusive, compound), every plan | ✓ GST/HST and PST; QST through Quebec tax codes [7][8] |
| In French | ✓ Yes: the app, your documents, emails and client pages | ✓ Yes: the Canadian edition switches to French; invoices in the client’s language [8] |
| Client portal | ✓ Every plan: secure links and a portal, no client account needed | ? Not stated publicly [2] |
| Time tracking and projects | ✓ Projects, time tracking and project expenses on every plan | ◐ Plus and up ($110/month) [1][2] |
| Invoices in other currencies | ◐ Yes, at an exchange rate you enter (no live rate feed) | ◐ Plus and up [1][2] |
| Vendor’s name on your invoices | ◐ A “Sent with NextiaInvoices” line on Free; none from Starter ($4.99/month) | ? Your logo, fonts and colours; QuickBooks’ own name on invoices not stated [2] |
| AI help with invoices | ✓ Drafts an invoice from a sentence: 25 actions a month on Free, 200 Starter, 500 Pro, 1,000 Business | ◐ AI features from EasyStart; invoices drafted by chat on Plus and up [1][2] |
| Native iOS and Android apps | ◐ Coming soon. The web app works on a phone today | ✓ Yes, with every plan [6] |
| Where your data is hosted | ✓ Application data in Microsoft Azure Canada Central; AI drafting in Canada East | ◐ U.S. regions, with a backup copy of Canadian customers’ data kept in Canada [5] |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | ✕ No: invoicing and getting paid, with a CSV export for your bookkeeper | ✓ Yes: full accounting with bank connections; payroll is a paid add-on [1] |
✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor
What you’d pay
Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s own pricing page, in Canadian dollars.
| Feature | NextiaInvoices | QuickBooks OnlineCanada · Lite, EasyStart and Plus |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month | ✓ Lite, $20/month [1] |
| Cheapest plan without the vendor’s name on your invoices | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month | ? Not stated publicly [2] |
| For a team of 5 | ✓ Starter, $4.99/month (up to 5 users) | ✓ Plus, $110/month (up to 5 users) [1] |
| Billed yearly | ✓ Starter $49/year, Pro $99/year, Business $149/year (2 months free) | ◐ About 10% off billed yearly; yearly prices not shown [1] |
| Current promotion | ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial with no card | ✓ 90% off for 6 months, then the regular price [1] |
QuickBooks currently advertises 90% off for 6 months (Lite $2/month, EasyStart $3, Plus $11). The tables show the regular price each plan is shown against; the offer’s terms are on Intuit’s site.
Where QuickBooks Online is stronger
- Full accounting: bank connections, chart of accounts and reports, with payroll as an add-on.
- Card, Apple Pay and bank-transfer payments on the invoice through its own processor, at published Canadian rates.
- Native iOS and Android apps, included with every plan.
- Multi-currency, project profitability and inventory on higher plans.
Switching to NextiaInvoices
Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. There is no importer yet: add your clients and services, set your taxes, logo and payment link once, and send your next invoice from NextiaInvoices. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.
Sources
- QuickBooks Canada pricing — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada invoicing — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada payments — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Payments Canada pricing schedule — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada security — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada mobile app — checked October 20, 2026
- Intuit help: common sales tax codes (Canada) — checked October 20, 2026
- Intuit Canada: QuickBooks Canada vs QuickBooks US — checked October 20, 2026
- QuickBooks Canada free invoice generator — checked October 20, 2026
- NextiaInvoices: our pricing page and plan details.
QuickBooks Online is a trademark of its owner. NextiaInvoices is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.
Your first invoice in under five minutes, from opening day.
Set up your business, add a service, and bill a client — all before your coffee gets cold.
Free plan, forever · 14-day Pro trial, no credit card · Nothing locked or deleted when it ends