Coming soonComing soon. NextiaInvoices opens to new customers soon — pricing and screenshots are final-draft, and sign-up is not open yet.

Questions? Talk to us →
NextiaInvoices
Compare

NextiaInvoices vs Wave

Wave is free invoicing and bookkeeping, with its own card and bank payments at a per-payment fee. Both Wave and NextiaInvoices have free plans with unlimited invoices; the difference is what comes with them. On Wave, automatic reminders, recurring sending and removing the “Powered by Wave” footer need Pro at $25 a month (or Wave’s online payments). NextiaInvoices includes reminders and recurring invoices on its free plan, removes its line from Starter, and works in French. Wave is in English only.

Checked October 20, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.

NextiaInvoices suits you if…

  • You or your clients work in French
  • You want automatic reminders and recurring invoices without paying
  • You want your name only on invoices for a few dollars a month
  • You need QST and compound taxes set up for Quebec
  • You bill time and projects

Wave suits you better if…

  • You want free bookkeeping and invoicing in one product
  • You want card and bank payments processed inside the invoice today
  • You invoice in foreign currencies and want gains and losses tracked
  • You want native mobile apps today
Side by side

NextiaInvoices and Wave, feature by feature

Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.

Feature NextiaInvoices WaveStarter (free) and Pro
Free plan ✓ Yes, no time limit: 1 user, unlimited invoices, quotes and clients, 50 email sends a month ✓ Yes (Starter): unlimited estimates, invoices and bookkeeping records; “Powered by Wave” footer [1][12][16]
Limits on invoices and clients ✓ None on any plan; plans differ by users, email sends, AI actions and storage ✓ None stated on Starter or Pro [1]
Quotes your client accepts online ✓ Every plan: your client accepts or declines online; convert to an invoice in one click ◐ Estimates on every plan; online acceptance needs Pro or Wave payments [7][8]
Recurring invoices ✓ Every plan, Free included ◐ Yes; sending automatically needs Pro or Wave payments [5]
Automatic payment reminders ✓ Every plan, Free included ◐ Pro or Wave payments [6]
Clients pay by card online ◐ Not built in: a Pay now link to your own provider (Stripe, Square, PayPal…) on every invoice. Connecting your own account is coming soon ✓ Yes: Wave’s own card, Apple Pay and bank payments, after approval [4][19]
Fees on payments ✓ No NextiaInvoices fee or commission; your payment provider’s own fees apply ◐ Cards 2.9% + $0.60 (Amex 3.4% + $0.60); bank payments 1% (min. $1); Pro waives the fixed fee on 10 a month [4][1]
GST/HST and Quebec QST ✓ GST/HST, QST and your own taxes (inclusive, exclusive, compound), every plan ◐ Sales taxes you set up, compound option; no Quebec QST guidance [10]
In French ✓ Yes: the app, your documents, emails and client pages ✕ No: English only (French can be typed into invoice fields) [9]
Client portal ✓ Every plan: secure links and a portal, no client account needed ◐ No portal stated; customer statements sent by link (needs Pro or Wave payments) [13]
Time tracking and projects ✓ Projects, time tracking and project expenses on every plan ? Not stated publicly [1]
Invoices in other currencies ◐ Yes, at an exchange rate you enter (no live rate feed) ✓ Yes, with gain and loss tracking [11]
Vendor’s name on your invoices ◐ A “Sent with NextiaInvoices” line on Free; none from Starter ($4.99/month) ◐ “Powered by Wave” footer; removable on Pro [1][12]
AI help with invoices ✓ Drafts an invoice from a sentence: 25 actions a month on Free, 200 Starter, 500 Pro, 1,000 Business ? Not stated publicly [1]
Native iOS and Android apps ◐ Coming soon. The web app works on a phone today ✓ Yes [14]
Where your data is hosted ✓ Application data in Microsoft Azure Canada Central; AI drafting in Canada East ◐ Servers in Canada and the United States [18]
Bookkeeping and bank feeds ✕ No: invoicing and getting paid, with a CSV export for your bookkeeper ✓ Bookkeeping on every plan; automatic bank import on Pro [1][16][17]

✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor

Pricing

What you’d pay

Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s own pricing page, in Canadian dollars.

Feature NextiaInvoices WaveStarter (free) and Pro
Cheapest paid plan ✓ Starter, $4.99/month ✓ Pro, $25/month [1]
Cheapest plan without the vendor’s name on your invoices ✓ Starter, $4.99/month ✓ Pro, $25/month [1][12]
For a team of 5 ✓ Starter, $4.99/month (up to 5 users) ◐ Pro, $25/month per business (user limit not stated) [1][15]
Billed yearly ✓ Starter $49/year, Pro $99/year, Business $149/year (2 months free) ✓ Pro $250/year [1]
Current promotion ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial with no card ? None we could confirm: the offer shown on the pricing page is dated December 2025 to January 2026 [1]

Where Wave is stronger

  • Bookkeeping on the free plan: chart of accounts and sales-tax reports; bank import on Pro.
  • Its own card, Apple Pay and bank payments in Canada, with saved-card automatic payments.
  • Foreign-currency invoices with unrealized gain and loss tracking.
  • Native iOS and Android apps.
  • Deposits on estimates, and estimates accepted online (with Pro or Wave payments).

Switching to NextiaInvoices

Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. There is no importer yet: add your clients and services, set your taxes, logo and payment link once, and send your next invoice from NextiaInvoices. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.

Sources

  1. Wave pricing — checked October 20, 2026
  2. Wave invoicing — checked October 20, 2026
  3. Wave payments — checked October 20, 2026
  4. Wave help: online payment fees and timelines — checked October 20, 2026
  5. Wave help: recurring invoices — checked October 20, 2026
  6. Wave help: payment reminders — checked October 20, 2026
  7. Wave help: estimate accepted — checked October 20, 2026
  8. Wave help: convert an estimate — checked October 20, 2026
  9. Wave help: is Wave available in my language? — checked October 20, 2026
  10. Wave help: sales taxes — checked October 20, 2026
  11. Wave help: foreign currency invoices — checked October 20, 2026
  12. Wave help: customize invoices — checked October 20, 2026
  13. Wave help: customer statements — checked October 20, 2026
  14. Wave help: mobile app — checked October 20, 2026
  15. Wave help: collaborator permissions — checked October 20, 2026
  16. Wave help: is Wave free? — checked October 20, 2026
  17. Wave help: bank connection account types — checked October 20, 2026
  18. Wave privacy policy — checked October 20, 2026
  19. Wave help: set up online payments — checked October 20, 2026
  20. NextiaInvoices: our pricing page and plan details.

Wave is a trademark of its owner. NextiaInvoices is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.

Your first invoice in under five minutes, from opening day.

Set up your business, add a service, and bill a client — all before your coffee gets cold.

Free plan, forever · 14-day Pro trial, no credit card · Nothing locked or deleted when it ends