Coming soonComing soon. NextiaInvoices opens to new customers soon — pricing and screenshots are final-draft, and sign-up is not open yet.

Questions? Talk to us →
NextiaInvoices
Compare

NextiaInvoices vs FreshBooks

FreshBooks is invoicing-first accounting for service businesses, with its own card and bank-debit payments. It has no free plan; Lite is $26 a month at regular price and invoices up to 5 clients, Plus is $42 for 50. NextiaInvoices has a free plan with no limit on invoices or clients, and paid plans from a few dollars a month, but no built-in card processing or bookkeeping yet.

Checked October 20, 2026 · competitor details from their public websites; prices in CAD before tax.

NextiaInvoices suits you if…

  • You invoice more than 5 clients and want to pay little or nothing
  • You want a free plan with no time limit
  • You want GST/HST and QST set up for Canadian invoices
  • You want your invoicing data hosted in Canada
  • You want a team of five for one low price

FreshBooks suits you better if…

  • You want card and bank-debit payments processed inside the invoicing tool today
  • You need bookkeeping and bank reconciliation in the same product (Plus and up)
  • You want native mobile apps today
  • You bill clients in other currencies and want it set once per client
Side by side

NextiaInvoices and FreshBooks, feature by feature

Numbers in brackets link to the source for each competitor detail.

Feature NextiaInvoices FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus
Free plan ✓ Yes, no time limit: 1 user, unlimited invoices, quotes and clients, 50 email sends a month ✕ No. 30-day free trial, no card [1]
Limits on invoices and clients ✓ None on any plan; plans differ by users, email sends, AI actions and storage ◐ Lite: invoices to 5 clients; Plus: 50 clients [1]
Quotes your client accepts online ✓ Every plan: your client accepts or declines online; convert to an invoice in one click ✓ Every plan: the client accepts online; convert to an invoice in one click [1][8]
Recurring invoices ✓ Every plan, Free included ✓ Every plan [1]
Automatic payment reminders ✓ Every plan, Free included ✓ Every plan, up to three reminders [1][9]
Clients pay by card online ◐ Not built in: a Pay now link to your own provider (Stripe, Square, PayPal…) on every invoice. Connecting your own account is coming soon ✓ Yes: FreshBooks Payments (card, pre-authorized debit, pay later); PayPal too [1][2][3]
Fees on payments ✓ No NextiaInvoices fee or commission; your payment provider’s own fees apply ◐ Cards 2.9% + $0.30; Amex 3.5% + $0.30; pre-authorized debit 1% [2][3]
GST/HST and Quebec QST ✓ GST/HST, QST and your own taxes (inclusive, exclusive, compound), every plan ◐ Taxes you name yourself, up to two per invoice; GST/HST and QST not named [4]
In French ✓ Yes: the app, your documents, emails and client pages ✓ Yes: the web app, and invoices per client [5][6]
Client portal ✓ Every plan: secure links and a portal, no client account needed ✓ Free client account to view and pay invoices [7]
Time tracking and projects ✓ Projects, time tracking and project expenses on every plan ✓ Every plan [1]
Invoices in other currencies ◐ Yes, at an exchange rate you enter (no live rate feed) ✓ Currency set per client [5]
Vendor’s name on your invoices ◐ A “Sent with NextiaInvoices” line on Free; none from Starter ($4.99/month) ? Not stated for invoices; removing FreshBooks branding from emails is listed on Select [1]
AI help with invoices ✓ Drafts an invoice from a sentence: 25 actions a month on Free, 200 Starter, 500 Pro, 1,000 Business ◐ A Claude connector (announced September 2026); AI invoice drafting not stated [13]
Native iOS and Android apps ◐ Coming soon. The web app works on a phone today ✓ Yes [1][10]
Where your data is hosted ✓ Application data in Microsoft Azure Canada Central; AI drafting in Canada East ◐ Canada not stated; sub-processors list AWS and Google Cloud in the United States [11][12]
Bookkeeping and bank feeds ✕ No: invoicing and getting paid, with a CSV export for your bookkeeper ◐ Expenses on every plan; double-entry reports and bank reconciliation from Plus [1]

✓ yes · ◐ partly or with conditions · ✕ no · ? not stated publicly by the vendor

Pricing

What you’d pay

Regular monthly prices for one business, before tax, from each vendor’s own pricing page, in Canadian dollars.

Feature NextiaInvoices FreshBooksCanada · Lite and Plus
Cheapest paid plan ✓ Starter, $4.99/month ✓ Lite, $26/month (5 clients) [1]
Cheapest plan without the vendor’s name on your invoices ✓ Starter, $4.99/month ? Not stated publicly [1]
For a team of 5 ✓ Starter, $4.99/month (up to 5 users) ◐ Lite $26 plus $13/month per team member; users included per plan not stated [1]
Billed yearly ✓ Starter $49/year, Pro $99/year, Business $149/year (2 months free) ◐ An extra 10% off billed yearly; yearly prices not shown [1]
Current promotion ✕ None: the regular price from day one, after a 14-day Pro trial with no card ✓ 80% off for 4 months, then the regular price [1]

FreshBooks currently advertises 80% off for 4 months (Lite $5.20/month, Plus $8.40). The tables show the regular price each plan is shown against; the offer’s terms are on FreshBooks’ site.

Where FreshBooks is stronger

  • Built-in card, pre-authorized debit and buy-now-pay-later payments with published Canadian rates.
  • Double-entry reports and bank reconciliation from Plus.
  • Native iOS and Android apps, the iOS app in French.
  • A client account where clients save payment details and pay several invoices at once.
  • A connector for Claude, announced in September 2026.

Switching to NextiaInvoices

Start on the free plan or the 14-day Pro trial, with no card. There is no importer yet: add your clients and services, set your taxes, logo and payment link once, and send your next invoice from NextiaInvoices. Your other tool keeps your history until you no longer need it.

Sources

  1. FreshBooks Canada pricing — checked October 20, 2026
  2. FreshBooks Canada: accept payments online — checked October 20, 2026
  3. FreshBooks help: FreshBooks Payments fees (CAD) — checked October 20, 2026
  4. FreshBooks help: how sales tax works — checked October 20, 2026
  5. FreshBooks help: client currency and language — checked October 20, 2026
  6. FreshBooks help: account profile (language) — checked October 20, 2026
  7. FreshBooks help: client accounts — checked October 20, 2026
  8. FreshBooks help: create an estimate — checked October 20, 2026
  9. FreshBooks help: payment reminders and late fees — checked October 20, 2026
  10. FreshBooks help: iOS app — checked October 20, 2026
  11. FreshBooks privacy policy — checked October 20, 2026
  12. FreshBooks third-party sub-processors — checked October 20, 2026
  13. FreshBooks press release: Claude connector — checked October 20, 2026
  14. NextiaInvoices: our pricing page and plan details.

FreshBooks is a trademark of its owner. NextiaInvoices is not affiliated with or endorsed by it. Details are from public sources on the date shown and can change; if something here is out of date, tell us at [email protected] and we will correct it.

Your first invoice in under five minutes, from opening day.

Set up your business, add a service, and bill a client — all before your coffee gets cold.

Free plan, forever · 14-day Pro trial, no credit card · Nothing locked or deleted when it ends